Longings and Lattes


Around 3.00pm on any given afternoon, I am usually at the mercy of cravings for a creamy latte. Some people smoke – me, I take on liquids. This necessitates stopping work, wandering the 100 yards or so to the nearest barista where I tickle him under his milky little armpits until he delivers what I require. I then walk back to my office, sit down and….well, basically contemplate my future for 10 minutes. It’s an indulgence, I know, and those of you out there with proper jobs and toddlers under foot are probably screaming at the screen right now. But I like to do it, and everyone is advised to reduce stress. It’s this or crystal meth.

I am a blessings-counter in my day to day life as it is, and believe I have been extremely lucky to have what I have: the kids, the husband, the job, the lifestyle etc. It is not discontentment that prompts these thoughts. Rather a naïve belief that, having got this far, what’s stopping me continuing in pursuit of an ideal? We all have to have goals, don’t we? Or have I been indoctrinated into the “performance review” mould of work for too long?

In my defence, the boss knows about it and woe betide him if he interrupts during this afternoon hiatus. It started after I once read a book called “The Secret” which encouraged me to try “cosmic ordering” – thinking positively about the things you really want and then they will come to you. So far, fingers crossed/touching wood/good morning Mr Magpie *spit* *spit* it’s been spookily true on a few counts. Not last week’s Euromillions, obviously, but then one must not be cosmically greedy – it negates all the positives apparently.

So in pictorial terms, if I could keep all the good things I already have, but given free rein and endless money/time/good karma just “swap” a few bits around, how would I cosmically order things to start living the – modest, not greedy – future that I desire?

Number One: This is the current view from my office.

And as views of London go, its not bad. Lots of light and space. I even get to see Queeny’s chopper going over from time to time back to her bungalow over by the park. Here, however, is the office view that I would like:

This is Salcombe, or as I prefer to call it, Nirvana. The ultimate goal – sad to some who aspire to Caribbean islands etc. But my own private dream town. It’s got sailing, surfing, beaches, gig rowing, shops, restaurants, a decent coffee shop and is only 20 miles from a major town for shoe shopping and handbags. I’ve been going there for a few years now and never yet heard anyone burp in public. Heaven.

Number Two: This is the home I live in now:

And its lovely – we are very lucky. Country location, friendly locals and perfect for us and the kids. It wasn’t always like this, mind. Not sure what the “rear elevation” motto is on the pic – except I know it’s from some old estate agent details from a time when things were not as financially rosy as they could otherwise have been and we had to put the family homestead up for sale. We didn’t sell it in the end, needless to say. And in truth I always said I would never leave it – I love it – but there is a house I have seen in the right location (with the view above) and try as I might I can’t get it out of my head:

Six bedrooms and a basement. Sleeping quarters for us grown-ups, one each for the kids, one spare to kick the snoring nightmare that is my husband into when it becomes unbearable, one for guests (which in a location like this I am expecting many of) and a writing room (see below – there is a theme developing here)

Number Three: Here is what I do for a living now:

But I have better hair, I think. And here, with a lot more time and space, is what I would like to do to earn a crust:

Number Four: This is my current body image (That’s not a real beard, before you ask, being facially hirsute is not one of my issues – yet):

and here’s the figure I aspire to (if only the LighterLife people would stop pfaffing around with Pauline Quirke and return my call):

Number Five: Oh, and I’d like lots more of these types of things, purchased if necessary (well, I am 44), but ssshhhhh don’t tell the husband:

Ah well, coffee’s finished now. Back to the real world. All I know is I need a lot more dosh and time and less lattes to get it all done! Onwards and upwards! There’s a cosmos to order about!

What is your perfect world? What motivates you to keep on going in the face of distraction and routine? Would love to know how others navel-gaze from time to time.

Photo Credits: Some to Google, the others are my own.

About pigletinapoke

I am a forty-something married mum of two, working in London and commuting a crazy amount of hours so I can enjoy living at the coast at weekends! I'm into netball, jointly coaching and running a successful ladies club. I also sail whenever I get the chance and took part in the Trans-Atlantic leg of the Clipper Round The World yacht race in 2009. I like movies, particularly stuff by Nancy Meyers in whose set designs I want to spend my life. I devour novels, biographies and anything to do with self-improvement. I like to drive fast and live slightly dangerously, attempting to experience everything and everywhere before my time is up. That's me in a nutshell - I hope you enjoy my blog. If you would like to use any of my articles or the pics, I would appreciate very much if you could ask me first. Never known to refuse to date. Thanks!

Posted on July 14, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wonderful post! Love “milky little armpits” and all the fun photos and wishes.

  2. Fab post. My challenge is, that I’m not sure what my perfect world is like. We’ve just gone through the opportunity of moving and changing our life and actually I didn’t want to do it. And I’ve just sold my business so that I can create my dream job, but I don’t know what that job is. Even when faced with living by the sea (which is a dream), there is nowhere in the UK that I have found that ticks all the boxes, even if I could afford it. I think I need to go to a yoga retreat in thailand or tuscany or something and Ohm my way into clarity of cosmic thinking.

    • Go on a yoga retreat to Salcombe – by the sea and perfect, I promise you! I’ll be there, cosmically permitting, in about a year. We can set up that biz sending mummys off on extreme adventures and doing their ironing while they’re away. You can also keep your PR hand in – be my agent – get my books published, organise fun book tours where we schmooze the public and drink far too much wine, and send us off on extreme adventures so I can write about them.

  3. Thank goodness for caffeine and dreams – keeps me going till I hit the jackpot and move to a hippie adobe in Taos with a dog and a typewriter (I am very practical, you see).

    • I think they have some sort of yurt-type coven for writers in Cornwall somewhere – you could go for a mini-break and see if you like it first! Thx for reading my nonsense. x

Leave a Reply

