Amy is Dead


Amy Winehouse is dead. A daughter; a sister; a niece; an icon. Dead. Horribly, horrifically, prematurely dead. Died alone in Camden Town. Alone. Frightened. Defeated too young. Beaten by drugs. Beaten by booze. Alone in her fight at the end. Abandoned by life; betrayed by her body; damaged by Fate. Where was her family? Where were her friends? How could they leave her alone, even for an hour straight? Where was the help she so desperately needed? Discharged herself, you say? Her human right? The right to live freely? She was not free; could not be free. She needed rehab, support, a cure. A straitjacket of people, presence, protection to halt the march towards her own private self-inflicted hell.

Where is she now? Is she happy at last? Does anyone really care?

I wrote the above as an exercise piece on a writing course this weekend, but wanted to post it. Whether anyone agrees with me or not, as a parent I find her death terribly sad. I grieve for Amy – for a life lost, thrown away if you like, but lost nonetheless. Talent wasted. For all the sons’ and daughters’ lives lost in such ways.

About pigletinapoke

I am a forty-something married mum of two, working in London and commuting a crazy amount of hours so I can enjoy living at the coast at weekends! I'm into netball, jointly coaching and running a successful ladies club. I also sail whenever I get the chance and took part in the Trans-Atlantic leg of the Clipper Round The World yacht race in 2009. I like movies, particularly stuff by Nancy Meyers in whose set designs I want to spend my life. I devour novels, biographies and anything to do with self-improvement. I like to drive fast and live slightly dangerously, attempting to experience everything and everywhere before my time is up. That's me in a nutshell - I hope you enjoy my blog. If you would like to use any of my articles or the pics, I would appreciate very much if you could ask me first. Never known to refuse to date. Thanks!

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. It is sad but with an alcoholic for a parent I know first hand that you can’t help those who don’t want to be helped and equally for addicts the only person who can truly help them is themselves. Alcohol should be banned. It causes far more damage to people, families than any other drug and is far more accessible.

Leave a Reply

