School’s OUT???


The Teen Pig has finished school. Finished. Done. Finito. I’m still reeling with the shock of it. Other than a quick drive-by for an exam or two, school has officially ended. I feel like someone came along and dumped my impending old age on my doorstep without even the courtesy of a cheery note. When did this kid get so big? How is she almost ready to face the world of work and start paying her own outrageous mobile phone bill? Time has crept up and found me hopelessly unprepared for such adulthood in the house.

To be fair, the kid is going on to college for a couple of years, so I’m not in my dotage and slippers just yet. Around our part of the country, the Year 11s have to depart school and head to specific Sixth Form Colleges. Hers happens to have spawned such famous worthies as Stella McCartney, Eddie Izzard and Jo Brand. Which is fitting as the Teen is well-dressed, a little bit camp (for a girl) and always very funny. I wish her and all the other Year 11s the very best of luck as they finish those final exams and forge ahead into a summer of utter sloth before the seriousness of A Levels begins in September. Here are a few pics of their last day in which they were actively encouraged to dress up and behave like the toddlers I clearly still think they are.

Costumes included: zombies, traffic cones, cupcakes, the entire Jamaican bobsleigh team and a whole gaggle of Where’s Wally girls – all running amok on school property. An excellent end to a defining era.

The six Avatar girls, including the Teen, took the prize for the Best Costume at the Dress Up Day. Impressive make-up and kudos for sporting lycra all day during the British summer.

Braver still however is George here, courageously rocking the Sucker Punch look and not even in an ironic way.

The Black and White Swans were out to show the others how to strut – en pointe no less! And no, that’s not camera red eye. Such was Hannah’s commitment to the theme, she wore red contact lenses for the day!

A tearful goodbye to the Form Teacher they have had for the past five years.  I’m sure his classroom will be a whole lot quieter now! I can almost feel his shoulders relaxing.

Has anyone noticed that my Teen has her mouth open in every picture? I told you she was noisy. This one……well, aaaaggghhh! to you to.

And finally….a group shot of some of the friends forever at the after party. You go guys – good luck in whatever it is you are going on to. Make Mummy proud!

About pigletinapoke

I am a forty-something married mum of two, working in London and commuting a crazy amount of hours so I can enjoy living at the coast at weekends! I'm into netball, jointly coaching and running a successful ladies club. I also sail whenever I get the chance and took part in the Trans-Atlantic leg of the Clipper Round The World yacht race in 2009. I like movies, particularly stuff by Nancy Meyers in whose set designs I want to spend my life. I devour novels, biographies and anything to do with self-improvement. I like to drive fast and live slightly dangerously, attempting to experience everything and everywhere before my time is up. That's me in a nutshell - I hope you enjoy my blog. If you would like to use any of my articles or the pics, I would appreciate very much if you could ask me first. Never known to refuse to date. Thanks!

Posted on June 7, 2012, in Family Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Pass me the zimmer frame and let’s have a sherry… I remember a teeny young thing named Sophie toddling around the fourth floor at CSFB. She can’t be old enough to have finished school.

Leave a Reply

